Friday, October 20, 2017

Artistic Directors' Message

"OUR 2015-2016 SEASON"


Hello, dear enthusiasts of fine music. We have a new season of masterpieces and great players to get excited about. If you've been to these concerts, you know what comes across in energy, narrative and dialogue. This season, we'll catch the rich cultural, intellectual and emotional expression of a half dozen cultures spanning the zeitgeist of the 18th century fin de siecle, to a new creation by Montreal's Tim Brady. What a wonderful time we live in, that such privileges can be imported to us like exotic fruit.

We begin on Oct 18th with sextets - two violins, two violas, two cellos - a violist and a cellist more than the string quartet. Great composers such as Brahms and Tchaikovsky wrote great works for this rich-textured yet agile genre, but these attributes also enable us to bring you a fascinating novelty: Beethoven's sixth symphony, co-arranged by Beethoven himself for sextet. It would seem, the only publication is two centuries old and I cannot say it has seen a professional performance in Canada.

On November 15th, the three Russians of the Hermitage Piano Trio bring us music of the home country with intuitive authenticity. It must be pointed out that the trio's cellist, Sergey Antonov, won the gold medal at the last Tchaikovsky Competition -the most prestigious and grueling test of instrumental sovereignty there is.

On February 7th, the very popular New Orford Quartet returns to us. They will play a hair raising new Canadian piece, and I will join to bring you the exquisite Brahms Op.88 quintet.

The expressive Ariel Quartet, fostered by Itzhak Perlman after immigrating from Israel, brings us a significant cross-cultural sampling from the dawn of modernity.

Finally, it took me years to succeed at booking the especially booked-up Pacifica Quartet. Based out of Bloomington, Indiana, they spend much of their time on tour. The Beethoven cycle is on their menu this season but I will never present the whole cycle as it would take up the whole season, or run across many seasons if done by them. They have, however, agreed to my request of a Beethoven cycle digest, as I am calling it; One work from each of his three compositional periods, finishing as I promised last year, with the unforgettable Op.131.

I look forward to seeing you at the concerts.

Michael Schulte


Copyright 2017 by Chamber Music Hamilton